11 Months

Whew- with all our traveling and sleeping around on other people’s couches, I have not been keeping up with posts. Last week we were internetless, so hopefully this week Friday Fotos will at least resume. I did take time to write about Jairus’ eleventh month of life, and I have so many pictures to add sometime when I get the desire to be techy, but until then, here’s a brief update on our little (big) guy.

***

First, let me just say that I am still in denial that in less than a month Jairus will be one year old. Is this how it is going to be now? Years are just going to fly by until I’m an old lady and all of our children are grown up. Sad, but excited for all that the Lord is going to be teaching us in the mean time.

This month has been another fun month with Jairus. Are there any months that aren’t? We spent some time with my mom and dad and began our world tour with excitement to spend 3 weeks with Grammy and Pops in New York. This little one sure has an exciting life.

Jairus went to the beach for the second time in his life, but it was the first time that he was able to enjoy it. When Jordan’s parents came to visit Jairus when he was first born we made a trip to the beach for the first time with our new little bundle. He was sleeping for most of the trip, or eating, and didn’t quite get to soak in the rays. This time he played in the water, ate the sand, and when he discovered he could actually crawl on the sand, I thought we would be there all day. He crawled and crawled as fast as he could all the while laughing and laughing. He loved it.

During the stay at my moms Jairus also went skinny dipping for the first time (leave it to my mom to teach these things…). We found a little river inlet and Jairus dropped trou for a little dip. He LOVES the water and loved being in it. Nanners swang him around in the water and he could not get enough!

My little lover is officially giving kisses, and they are open mouth kisses so beware. Jordan refuses to admit that they are real kisses, but mama knows kisses, and I assure you they are as authentic as an 11 month old kiss can get.

Jairus discovered my belly button this month. I know that sounds weird, but it is actually pretty funny. He puts his little finger inside of it and looks at it like it is one of the strangest things he has ever seen. Then he laughs. I don’t think he really understands that he has a belly button too.

This month Jairus found out that he is going to be an older brother!! He really has no clue what that means or that there is another little blessing in my belly, but still a cool little piece of info.

Jairus and I took a trip with Auntie Natels to North Carolina to visit my dad. It was a great time. Jairus played in the dirt pretty much every day and was filthy! So cute. While we were there we took a trip to the waterfall where Jairus played in the water again (see a pattern? Kid is like a fish). We also went hiking, which was a blast (thanks Dad for carrying that big boy for the whole hike!)

Jairus also discovered how to get off a bed this month while we were staying at my mom’s. It was a little bed, probably lower than most couches, but he did it. He has yet to really do it again. I think the bed was close enough to the ground that he felt safe. It was amazing watching him try and figure out how he could get down- he really has a great patience in trying to figure things out. That week I awoke to Jairus standing on the ground next to me.

Gramps also taught Jairus how to throw. Really. He got a little tennis ball and rolled to it Jairus who then picked it up and “threw” it back. It started out that Jairus would hold the ball palm up and just drop it. Now, he really understands how to throw and pretty much throws everything he can get ahold of. Because of this he really enjoys playing with basketballs and soccer balls. He picks them up over his head and throws them down then he chases after them and repeats…over and over and over. We found it to be the best toy ever and now a basketball travels with us everywhere. Jordan is convinced that it is because he is going to be a pro basketball player one day and he is just getting started early. Maybe.

We also have a couple of words, I think. At least this is what I tell myself. He recognizes dogs and says “pup” when he sees them. Did I mention he LOVES dogs? I mean LOVES! We will have to change that. Anyway, he also has a little word for ball. It sounds like “ball” but not as clear and much more cute than how you or I would say it. Also, when I am feeding him and he wants more he says “mamamamamama.” This is not “MAMA” like “mother”, but “mamamamama” like “more please.” It is helpful and, again, o so cute.

Jairus has become really comfortable crawling now. In fact, he has become quite the climber and is taking more and more risks. Scary, but fun to see him taking chances and growing up into a brave little one.Which reminds me…

Jairus climbed his first staircase while we were at my dad’s! It took a while but that little boy did not give up and treked all the way to the top. Now any time he sees stairs he guns it and climbs up. This has definitely shown me how much more I need to trust the Lord. It’s easy to get scared at the littlest thing for your children, but I am comforted knowing that God is surely in control.

A couple of funny things happened this month: We have been training Jairus not to touch dog water bowls. It seems like everywhere we go there is a dog, and consequently a water bowl. Remember how I told you he loved water? Well water in a dog bowl is no exception. Recently, we were staying at a house that had a dog cage right next to the water bowl. It took some time, but Jairus was finally obeying us when we told him not to touch it. One day while we were at the house I look over at the dog cage and see Jairus hanging on to the very end of the door and stretching his foot at far as it could go to reach the water bowl. He had one little toe in that water bowl and was moving his little foot around to make a tiny little splash. It was probably the funniest thing to date that Jairus has done. I guess he wasn’t touching it with his hands…

Another funny instance happened while we were at our friends house in Arkansas. Let me preface this story by saying that Jairus has fallen off plenty of couches. He is not great at getting down on his own and sometimes will mistakenly swing his little toosh around only to find that there is no couch to rest his pretty hiney on…and splat…right on the floor. Anyway, we put him to sleep in his little co-sleeper next to the gigantic bed we were sleeping in. He was not really wanting to sleep and was putting up a little fight. While crying in the pitch black room he escaped his co-sleeper, got up onto the gigantic bed, and somehow shimmied down the blanket to the ground where he was waiting (crying) at the door for us to open it.  Can someone please explain how a baby cannot seem to get off a couch but can miraculously maneuver down a bed 007 style?

Leave a Reply

