I AM-Good

“Or do you presume on the riches of his kindness and forbearance and patience, not knowing that God’s kindness is meant to lead you to repentance?”Romans 2:4

“Good and upright is the Lord; therefore he instructs sinners in the way. He leads the humble in what is right,and teaches the humble his way. All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness for those who keep his covenant and his testimonies.” Psalm 25:8-10

Because God is good I can trust in His motives and reasonings. Romans says that the kindness of God leads to repentance, whether by His Word or the loving truthful word of a friend. Psalm 25 says that the Lord is good and upright and because of this, He will teach sinners in the way. The conviction and repentance brought about by the Spirit is a testimony of the kindness of the Father-for whom the father love he also chastises. His desire is to reconcile and restore me to Himself. His goodness leads Him to teach me the way that is right and to lead me in the way of righteousness.

Although God has all right to rain down his wrath, His goodness inclines Him to bring me a repentant heart and a righteous walk. He is good, and so He desires His children to walk in the way that is good- a desire that He brings about in our lives because He is kind. My ability to walk the path of God is by His kindness. I can be encouraged that while I may not feel growth, He indeed is growing me and that when I feel the conviction of my sin it is not because God wants me to wallow in self pity, but to rejoice in His kindness which seeks to replace condemnation with salvation. Freedom in Christ is knowing that our good works are not wrought by our own efforts, but by the kindness of God whose Spirit refines and finishes us into the image of His son.

 

2 thoughts on “I AM-Good

  1. I love you so much! This reminded me a little of David Platt’s sermon this past Sunday on Matthew 11. You might want to give it listen.

Leave a Reply

