Mystery Muffin Recipe aka Carrot Pulp Muffins

We recently began juicing carrots with our handy dandy juicer and after a few days ended up with a truck load of carrot pulp. It made me twinge a little bit to throw it out so I decided to do something about it. I looked up some recipes and wasn’t quite satisfied with what I found. Not many people juice and those who do and actually do something with the pulp leftover came up with some weird recipes with some strange and often expensive ingredients.

So I came up with the Mystery Muffin Recipe.  Mystery because I never measure and the ingredients continually change, and muffins because, well, they are muffins…and they were a hit. After a few requests I decided it was time to measure and make up a recipe.

I started with a basic muffin recipe and did a little drafting and adding to make it my own.

Without further ado, here she is.

Carrot Pulp Mystery Muffins

2 cups flour (I use either 1 cup regular or 2 cups whole wheat)
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 Tbs Pumpkin Pie Spice (I never measure I just pour-its yummo)
2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup brown sugar (can substitute honey or agave or do half and half)
1 cup coconut oil (probably could use olive oil)
1/4 cup water
2 tsp vanilla
4 eggs
1-2 Tbsp Molasses
1-2 cups of carrot pulp
Mix all dry ingredients together in one bowl. In separate bowl beat eggs and add oil, brown sugar, water, vanilla, molasses. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients and add pulp. Grease muffin pan and pour in (mix will be thick). Then for extra yummy dummy goodness, I sprinkle a little brown sugar on top or add an oatmeal topping which is a fav of mine. Cook on 350 for 6-8 minutes. And to make sure the muffins will be good taste the batter-unless you are afraid of raw egg in which case you would omit this step.
Hope everyone gets a chance to try it. The muffins always turn out great and are really moist and dense enough for a morning meal. Also, healthier than your typical muffin recipe, especially if you substitute the brown sugar for agave or honey.
I have tried them with both pears and apples are they are delicious! Probably could put a little pumpkin in there for a fall kick!
Enjoy!
One thought on “Mystery Muffin Recipe aka Carrot Pulp Muffins

  1. Good idea!! I tried making crackers with my juicer pulp and they were nasty! However carrot muffins are guarantied to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

