Be Still

The house is empty except for the sweet little guy peacefully sleeping across my legs. We just got back from a little run-the air was hot and wet from a storm that passed through here, showering Pensacola sporadically all day long- it was like running through water. But I needed to be outdoors-it quiets me.

It is difficult to be still. I find that I struggle daily with taking time to reflect on the many graces of God in my life- whether Him, His Word, my family, my walk along side of Him. Nor do I spend the greater majority of time on those things which satisfy, those things which He has said will bring me great joy and satisfaction. I busy my mind with reading, with mindless activity, with far less superior things than reflection, and consequently  futility often reigns over my mind and likewise my actions. We like to say that busyness is the plight of the American-as if we deserve an excuse- that this mentality infiltrates the church until God lies on the altar where we belong. We sacrifice Him and our lives become more important, our ministry becomes more important.

But is it wrong to assert that this plague is not absolutely American, but indicative of a fallen humanity busying their lives and mind so as to ignore the One true God?

I think of Israel- the whore- running to their man-made calf idol, to their own way, rather than waiting on God. I think of their worry and futility in the desert that replaced a devotion to remembering and reflecting and believing and calling on the faithfulness of God, keeping them from the Promised Land. I think of the ungodly, the unrighteous of Romans 1 who become “futile in their speculations,” busying themselves in glorying images constructed “in the form of corruptible man and of birds and four-footed animals and crawling creatures.”

The word futile means “to render vain-profitless.” The connotation is that something becomes wicked, perverse, foolish.

Does this ever happen to your day- it becomes foolish, wicked, perverse? Maybe the latter two seem harsh, but striving out of our own strength is exactly that- wicked and perverse– anything without God is. You wake up, spend 5 or 30 minutes in the Word and the rest of your day is full of futility? You are getting things done but at the end of the day you reflect and see that much of your attention has been given to worthlessness or foolishness- your mind too busy to find time to reflect on God’s goodness, your life too busy to spend intimate time with Him throughout the day- to hear His voice- to accomplish His tasks.

This happens to me a lot and tonight during our run God quieted me and made me to reflect on my life. Not only did He want to teach me the importance of being still but also brought to my mind a wellspring of memories from the last couple of weeks, igniting in me so much thankfulness for the abundant blessings in my life.

Somethings I must purge, and I ask for prayer as to what those things are and the discipline to accomplish the task.

I have found nothing in this life so satisfying as Him. Joy abounds in a life that reflects on and enjoys Him.

“Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,and your labor for that which does not satisfy? Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good, and delight yourselves in rich food. Incline your ear, and come to me;
hear, that your soul may live;and I will make with you an everlasting covenant, my steadfast, sure love for David.” Isaiah 55:2-3

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him…” Psalm 37:7

“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” Psalm 46:10

 

 

One thought on “Be Still

Leave a Reply

