Holiness by His Hand

“His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence, by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.” 2 Peter 1:3-4


“For we are the temple of the living God; as God said, ‘I will make my dwelling among them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people. Therefore, go out from the midst, and be separate from them, says the Lord, and touch no unclean thing; then I will welcome you and I will be a father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me,” says the Lord Almighty.  Since we have these promises, beloved let us cleanse ourselves from every defilement of body and spirit, bringing holiness to completion in the fear of God. ” 2 Corinthians 6:16-7:1

Notice.

Both of these verses start with God.

“His divine power has granted us…”

“‘I will make my dwelling among them…'”

Both of these verses talk about sin. The “corruption that is of the world because of sinful desire…” and the “defilement of body and spirit.”

Both of these verses call God’s people to holiness. “that you may become partakers of the divine nature having escaped the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire…” “let us cleanse ourselves…”

Both start with God.

God’s pruning  is not immediate and does not come all at one time, otherwise I would be one limbless, branchless, fruitless trees.

This is hard for me to grasp because I want to sanctify myself…right now.

But God did not show all His glory to Moses, lest he be burned up by the consuming fire of His holiness. Likewise, if God showed me all my sin against Him at once, I would be so overcome with grief I’m not sure I could even function. I don’t want to be a lukewarm Christian, passively walking along with the crowds after my Lord. I want to be actively involved with His work every opportunity I can get.

But the work of holiness is done by His hands alone, and not my own.

I am glad that “His divine power has GRANTED us all things that pertain to life and godliness,” that I have the Spirit that will wage war and have victory over the flesh. But this victory is not my own, it is only won by the grace of my God, who provides the tools of godliness and holiness that HE MIGHT BE GLORIFIED.

Who made His dwelling place among us so that we can be separate from every unclean thing.

Who welcomes us as sons and daughters.

I want to be a godly woman, but more than that I want to want Christ. Because I know that godliness is impossible without first knowing him.

The verse says that we are granted godliness “through the knowledge of Him who called us to his own glory and excellence.”

Both of these verses talk about God’s promises. “Since we have these promises, beloved let us cleanse ourselves from every defilement of body and spirit, bringing holiness to completion in the fear of God.” “…He has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.

Beloved, He has granted to us precious and great promises: He will make His dwelling among us, call us daughters and sons, grant us life and godliness. Since we have these promises lets press on toward the goal, cleansing ourselves from defilements and corruption that we might attain the goal of holiness and become partakers of His divine nature.

Lord, help us to want you. Make our hearts to love you.

One thought on “Holiness by His Hand

  1. You have no idea how much I needed this exact scripture! Oh my word, God is good! Thank you for sharing what you are learning. Love you

Leave a Reply

