18 Weeks

So I have not been the best at updating the pregnancy news, but there is exciting news so I thought it time to share.

We had our third appt. last week and got to hear the baby’s heartbeat. We have been able to see it on the ultrasound before, but this was the first time we got to hear it. The monitor at the office picked up my heartbeat-slow and strong- alongside of the baby’s heartbeat- fast and bit more faint. They say babies find comfort in their mother’s heartbeat when they are born because they get so used to hearing it while they are hanging out in the womb. It’s really cool to think that our little baby finds comfort in my heartbeat. I just love it. My adviser from school actually supplied us with our very own fetal heart monitor so you can believe when we got home later that night we were gathered around my belly listening for the fast little beat of our child. It really is something else.

The website that updates me on the size of my baby by comparing it to different items of food informed me that this week he or she is about the size of a green pepper. Apparently green peppers are also strong enough to move around and kick mommies because I started feeling some itty bitty flutters in my tummy.  At first I wasn’t sure if I was actually feeling kicks or if I just had gas, but after a few days I discovered that around 8:00-9:00pm that little pepper wakes up and starts moving around. It is truly one of the most amazing feelings in the world and I can’t wait until he or she has more strength to kick a bit harder so Jordan can feel from the outside. The little one also favors the right side of my tummy for now. There is always a little more bulge on that side.

I can’t stop praising God for the work that He is doing inside of me. He is so good to allow us to experience something like this and I am learning more and more of His great love for us the further along I get in my pregnancy. I can’t imagine the love I will one day have for this child and I know that it will pale in comparison to God’s love for me. My inadequacy to raise a child that will love and fear God is also something I am continually having to lay before the throne. I want so badly for my child to love and know the Lord, but I know that this is His work and not mine. It is humbling to be reminded of how out of control we actually are and how badly we need His guidance and wisdom. The scriptures say that the fear of God is the beginning of wisdom, and I can only pray that He will help me to revere Him as the ultimate authority in our family and bless us with guidance on how to raise this child He has graciously provided. He is so good to us and I am so thankful that we have the solid rock to stand on. There are many questions and fears for what’s ahead, but knowing that the Word of God and the character of God are always consistent provides a peace and assurance for all the future holds.

And for those of you who have been waiting, here are a few picture my sister took of my in NC at my parents. You can see the growth of the belly.No promises, but I’ll try to take weekly pictures, or at least monthly…

“See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is. And everyone who thus hopes in him purifies himself as he is pure.” 1 John 3:1-3

Leave a Reply

