Knit Together

“Praise God…”

was all I could say when I saw our little baby’s beating heart and forming body for the first time. I went last Thursday for my very first appt. to see the little life growing inside of me. After about 20 minutes of paperwork and 20 minutes of reviewing my answers from the paperwork, the nurse went to get WALL-E, the appropriately named ultrasound, and set to searching out my womb for a very small, very alive dweller.

The nurse got out the probe and in moments I saw the little figure of our child and almost immediately the fast pace beat of its itty bitty heart. Due to its round, plump figure, the little lentil pea has since been renamed the gummy bear, for it bears a strikingly similar resemblance to those classic gummy candies.  A HUGE smile broke across my face as the reality of this little life hit me. I could not believe that it so closely resembled a human. Not a tad pole or an alien, a human being.  God was giving and sustaining the life of this little gummy bear and it was humbling to remember again that I had no control.

The nurse, who was AMAZING, continued to make sure that all was A-OK with the little gummy bear, looking at its spine and even the two hemispheres of the brain beginning to form. I had no idea that all these little details would be so vivid. As I continued to stare at our little baby I had to shout “PRAISE GOD” because there was nothing else to more accurately describe how I felt. I could not believe what had been going on in my belly. How this little baby had grown so much in such a short amount of time.

I praise God for a healthy baby so far. With all that could go wrong it is a wonder that there are not more children with disabilities. Proof that God is in control of his creation, making a practically perfect environment within women for babies to grow and develop.

WOW.

Psalm 139:13-14 have taken on a whole new meaning.

“For thou did form my inward parts and did weave me together in my mothers womb. I will give thanks to THEE for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are thy works, and my soul know it very well.”

Praise God for His work of creation. Praise God for a heartbeat, a spine and a brain. Praise God for the life only He could give.

So here is our little bear, the life who shouts HIS glory…

7 thoughts on “Knit Together

  1. We are praising God too! You said it all so very well daughter. We thank God for ALL of you and will continue to hold you up in our prayers. Love you!

  2. That is awesome!! Thanks for sharing, Sara!! Such a cute and clear pic of your Gummy Bear!! Congratulations again, and we’ll be praying for you guys! How exciting!!

  3. THATS CRAZY IT REALLY LOOKS LIKE A GUMMY BEAR IS SITTING IN THERE……. INCREDIBLE THAT IT IS SO EASILY SEEN! CONGRATS AGAIN! LOVE YOU GUYS! (AND THE LITTLE ONE IN YOUR BELLY MOST OF ALL)

Leave a Reply

