Get The Ball Rollin’

With all the moving and unpacking and packing and unpacking and book books boooks, it has been difficult to get on a schedule as far as food is concerned. We made one trip to the grocer (thats for you steph) but didn’t get all the essentials for our little apartment kitchen. Consequently, I find that I only have half the ingredients for most of my favorite recipes.

Why don’t I just go to the store you ask? Well, Jordan and I have vowed to only have one car. We are trying to be economic and frugal and we thought this was a great way to do both, not to mention, we really don’t NEED it. But it does make frequent trips to the grocery store a bit difficult.

In my attempt to get the ball rolling, I decided to make some whole wheat pitas last night. They are great for dips and since we have rice to last us a lifetime (thanks Brandon), I figured they would be useful…not to mention, yummy.

I made the dough mid afternoon before we went to our Bible study for The Cross, our new church (more on this tomorrow). When we got home it was beautifully risen and ready to be rolled out and made. Lucky for me, I have a husband who’s not afraid to get his hands dirty in the kitchen. Knowing that I had more homework to get to, he jumped right in with me and together we punched these pitas out.

What I love about pitas is their simplicity. Beside their 1 1/2 hr rise time, they are quick and easy with only a few ingredients. Check it out.

3 cups flour (i used whole wheat flour)

yeast

1/4 cup honey or agave nectar

couple teaspoons of salt

1 1/2 cups of water

2 tablespoons of oil (I used sunflower and it worked beautifully)

Knead the dough for about 10 minutes or until it has a smooth consistency and is bouncy to the touch.  Put in a bowl with sides greased with oil and let sit and rise for about 1 1/2 hrs. When finished, punch out the air and start rolling out balls.

Our batch made about 9 all together, but you can make them whatever size you want. Let the balls sit for about 20 minutes. While resting preheat oven to 400 degrees and place pizza stone or pan in to preheat also (the pizza stone gave the dough a more consistent thorough bake than the cookie sheet). Place rolled out dough on the sheets and let them bake for 3-5 minutes.

Quick and easy. I got this recipe from The Fresh Loaf, a great website for those like me who want to begin to make their own bread.

Well, off for the morning run. Today homemade humus is on the menu. I’ll let you know how it goes.

3 thoughts on “Get The Ball Rollin’

  1. I love pitas!! For some reason i always thought they would be super hard to make. I’ve made lots of naan and homemade bread and pizza dough and now i am definitely making pitas! Homemade hummus is definitely way better and cheaper (especially if you use dried beans) then store bought! Making it yourself lets you control the ingredients and the texture and its ridiculously easy, just throw everything in a blender or food processor! My favorite kind to make is black bean hummus:) Just sub in black beans for the chickpeas and use a teaspoon or so of paprika and chili powder!

Leave a Reply

