This Old Tent

For a few years now I have had an ongoing battle with my body, eating and eating disorders. I praise the Lord that my battle was not as bad as some girls that I have spoken with, but nonetheless it continues to be war each and every day. I am thankful for the sharpening this has been in my life and how the Lord has allowed me to comfort those in the same way He has comforted me.

The enemy seeks like a lion to destroy your soul, and if he can’t have that his goal is to make you ineffective in your ministry for the Kingdom. Thankfully, this battle has helped me learn that  Christianity is not ponies and flowers, but full on war. 2 Timothy states it beautifully “And indeed all who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.” A truth like that puts to death those notions of Christianity as a crutch! I mean aren’t we supposed to accept Christ and get blessings and riches? Well yes, but not those riches of this world. My blessing is that through suffering and persecution I will be made more like my Savior, and as His child I want to desire nothing more.  It resonates in my mind daily that I am battling not with powers of this earth but with the prince of the air and with my flesh. Thankfully, I have a Savior that has overcome the World and so I am not in bondage to this flesh but free in Christ, Him reining in my members and no longer my sin.

But all the same, there are times when all these truths seem like they are not enough (yet another lie from the enemy). There are days when the battle is tiring and I want to lay down in bed, but I must war on. One of the truths that I have learned from this is that my temple, or tent as Paul refers to it, is dying along with everything else in this world, groaning for Christ to return that it might be SWALLOWED UP IN LIFE!

“For indeed while we are in this tent we groan, being burdened because we do not want to be unclothed, but to be clothed in order that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life.” 2 Corinthians 5:4

In Strong’s this word “life” is contrasted with death as in physical life and existence verses physical death and nonexistence. I know that because of the effects of sin my body is dying, but I have the hope that one day both my Spirit and my body will experience true life. Sin degrades and destroys so wouldn’t it make sense that I would feel uncomfortable in this diseased clothing, this earthly tent? It’s like getting out of the shower and putting on ratty, moldy clothing expecting to be comfortable and protected. Further, I allow this tent to become an idol trying through exercise and good eating habits to mend it and make it like new. The problem is that it is constantly dying and the only mending that will fix the holes is LIFE itself, being in the presence of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

The words of Christ to the Centurion regarding the paralyzed condition of his servant, “I will come and heal him,” give me hope for the day that this tent will be healed and made new. For we know that “He Himself took up our infirmities and carried away our diseases.”

Leave a Reply

